Cranford – free audio book

As I use my eyes all day at work (mostly on the PC) I find reading very taxing.  That is why I am especially delighted to have discoivered a wealth of audio books – free to download!

There are several sources, but the one I found for Cranford is here.  Librivox has many of the out of print books already  available, and more are being prepared all the time.

The Gutenberg project gives links to other sites which I may explore later.

I have begun listening to Cranford and am enjoying it. Mrs Gaskell’s writing is more appealing to me since I have watched the excellent BBC adaptation of Cranford. It is intriguing to see how, from a few sentences in the original, the BBC adaptors have built rounded characters, and the actresses have added reality, flesh and heart to them.

Regarding the audio version, it is of note that the readers seem to be mainly American.  That does not detract too much from the enjoyment but I did at first find it a little surprising to hear such English literature read with a Trans-Atlantic accent!  But these downloads are free, and that bargain is not to be sniffed at!

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment

Leave a Reply

